If everyone tried these techniques, which I think anyone can do, just think of how many happy readers we would have out there. My son gets so excited to read with me and I can’t wait for him to be able to read on his own.

Nerdy Book Club

As he sounds out the word painfully slowly, he looks desperately to the illustration for assistance. He looks at me. I look back blankly. He says each sound separately, but blends it incorrectly. He shakes his head. He looks at me. I look back with my gentle smile.  He glances over at the boys reading through the books in their book boxes effortlessly, happily even.  

 

The silence is loud and a little too long.  I want to cover my ears, but instead I hold my hand over my mouth. I must not tell him the word. He should be allowed to feel that power of saying the word and recognizing it first. I am his teacher. It is my job to align the planets so that this miracle can take place.  There is only so much I can do.

  1. Introduce books as if they are an ore…

View original post 1,001 more words

