Fractions cover

Fractions in Disguise: A Math Adventure by Edward Einhorn, illustrated by David Clark

Published March 25, 2014

The author asked if I would review his newest math adventure book. I accepted as I enjoy his authorship of “Paradox in Oz”. I am not a big math fan, but I was pleasantly surprised by this book and its fun and amusing puns. I also loved the illustrations by David Clark. It would be great for a reluctant reader who likes math or to use in a classroom to help kids understand how to simplify fractions. There is a longer description of fraction reduction in the back of the book.

The book is about a young man named George Cornelius Factor, who is part of a small group of fraction collectors, and is very interested in acquiring the fraction 5/8. It is stolen by Dr. Brok, who immediately changes it to make it unrecognizable. But all hope is not lost. Factor invents “The Reducer” which reduces a fraction to its lowest terms and uncovers the missing fraction. He proudly displays his newest acquisition to collection afterwards. Recommended for ages 7-10, 4 stars.

