Lets Get Lost

Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

Published July 29, 2014

Leila is traveling around the US on her own on her way to see the Northern Lights in a journey of self-discovery. She starts off in Louisiana and then heads to Mississippi where she meets Hudson, a 17-year-old mechanic about to head off to Ole Miss to become a doctor. She only spends one night with him, but that night changes their lives forever. She goes on to change the lives of three more teenagers: Bree, a runaway who believes in Carpe Tuesday, Elliot, a nearly-hopeless romantic, and Sonia, who is dealing with the recent death of her boyfriend.

First off, I had no idea this was written by a guy until after I finished the book. He really captured what it was like to be a teenage girl on the cusp of adulthood. Although I couldn’t completely identify with the main character, I did enjoy her development and the ending was a complete surprise. I loved the beginning story in Mississippi, and could identify with Hudson living in a Southern town as I have lived in many during my life. I really enjoyed Leila’s story, as well as that of Elliot and Sonia. Overall, I thought it was a rather good first novel. I would definitely read more of his work in the future. Recommended for ages 14+, 4 stars.

Disclaimer: I received this advanced reader’s copy book via Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

