My-Paris-Kitchen-hi-res

My Paris Kitchen: Recipes and Stories by David Lebovitz

Published April 8, 2014

I’ve been following the author’s food and travel blog for awhile now, after discovering his dessert cookbooks (which are amazing by the way). So when I found out Netgalley had a copy of his latest cookbook, I had to check it out. He starts off the cookbook by discussing his reasons for moving to Paris, adjusting to life there, and dealing with a much smaller kitchen. He also discusses frequently used ingredients in the recipes and how they differ in America and France. He is so thorough with the introductory sections that he reminds me of Mark Bittman (who I also really like).

I liked all the background stories about the food, which include how the author first discovered the food, and how he prepares it at home. I also liked when he went into details about the differences between French and American people. The recipes start with a back story description and why the recipe is included, and then actual recipe itself (titled in French and English). This is probably just because it is an advanced reader’s copy, but sometime the ingredients are first before the description, which can get kind of confusing as to where one recipe starts and the others end. The recipes are broken down into appetizers and salads, entrees (first course), main courses, desserts and basic pantry items like stock, vinaigrette and flavored oil. My favorite recipes included anything with Buckwheat, Artichoke Tapenade with Rosemary Oil, Leeks with Mustard-Bacon Vinaigrette, Scalloped Potatoes with Blue Cheese and Roasted Garlic (which sounds way more decadent when you look at the ingredients than just the description), the Chocolate Terrine with Fresh Ginger Crème Anglaise, and the Spiced Speculoos (the Biscoff Spread) Flan Crème Caramel. My only gripe is that there wasn’t a photo of every recipe, which helps when you’re making semi-complicated French food (especially the desserts) or food you’re not familiar with making. 4 stars.

Disclaimer: I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

