As the mom of a Toddler, I know how annoying it can get to read the same book over and over and over again. I get new books from the library so I don’t have to, but after I return them, my son picks up the same ones to re-read. As a librarian, as the Magpie librarian reiterates here, re-reading a book builds enjoyment of reading, understanding of the words, and of course vocabulary. So read that story your kid keeps requesting, even if it is the 100th time you’ve read it.

The Magpie Librarian: A Librarian's Guide to Modern Life and Etiquette

Each month, my goal is to make and display a sign with an early literacy tip on it. I prop this sucker up right behind the children’s desk. This is my second and it’s based on something I feel pretty strongly about:

Often at my library, I’ll see a child pick up a book, eagerly asking their mother/father/nanny/babysitter/whoever to read it to them. My blood boils when I hear a reply like this: “But we have that book at home!” or “We read that all the time!”

So? Who cares? Read it again!

Not only do I think it’s discouraging to a child to hear that they can’t read a book they’re interested in, but there are many benefits to re-reading (or re-hearing/re-listening to) a story. Any children’s librarian worth her cardigan knows that kids learn through repetition. Re-reading is a great way to learn new words and increase…

View original post 84 more words

