Ten days ago was 2 yr anniversary of having a blog on WordPress! Lol, I’m a little behind in celebrating that, but I’ve been swamped at work and at home. So for all my followers, thank you for being patient and checking out the blog!

Edith Head and her sketchese

Last Monday’s (Oct 28) Google Doodle is dedicated to Edith Head, one of classic Hollywood’s most famous costume designers. The Doodle celebrates her 116th birthday. I learned of her when I was in high school, as she designed so many amazing costumes in from the 1930s-70s, and I prefer classic movies. She got a Masters Degree in French from Stanford University in 1920 and started her career teaching French before she bluffed her way onto Paramount. She started working for Paramount in 1923 and was the head of the department by 1938. Edith stayed there for 44 years, before moving on to Universal Studios. According to this article on the CS Monitor, “Despite making a living dressing others, her personal style also lent her a bit of notoriety in Tinsel Town. She favored pulled back dark hair with short blunt bangs, and was never without her thick, black-rimmed round glasses.” She wore her trademark glasses, which were not sunglasses but rather blue tinted regular glasses to help with how a color would photograph on film.

Edith made Jean Harlow and Mae West sex symbols, and glamourized Marlene Dietrich in tailored suits. She outfitted pretty much all the Hitchcock women: Grace Kelly in Rear Window and To Catch a Thief, Kim Novak in Vertigo, and Tippi Hedren in The Birds and my favorite of her films Marnie (with Sean Connery). She is quoted to have said this about Grace Kelly, “I’ve dressed thousands of actors, actresses and animals, but whenever I am asked which star is my personal favorite, I answer, ‘Grace Kelly.’ She is a charming lady, a most gifted actress and, to me, a valued friend.”

Edith dressed Barbara Stanwyck in one of my favorite film noir movies, Double Indemnity. Even though I’m not a big Audrey Hepburn fan, she did help create her iconic looks in films like Roman Holiday and Breakfast at Tiffany’s. She costumed over 750 films. She was nominated 28-35 times for an Academy Award and won 8 times. Her final Oscar was for the 1974 film The Sting, with Paul Newman and Robert Redford. She was the inspiration for the Disney/Pixar 2004 film The Incredibles character, Edna Mode.

edith-head-mae-west2

Mae West in Go West, Young Man 1936

doubleindemnity

                                Barbara Stanwyck and Fred McMurray in Double Indemnity, 1944

Edith Head and Elizabeth Taylor

Edith Head and Elizabeth Taylor with a dress from A Place in the Sun, 1951

Grace Kelly in To Catch a Thief

Grace Kelly in one of my favorite dresses from To Catch a Thief, 1955

The Sting

Paul Newman and Robert Redford in The Sting, 1974

