As I did not do a banned book review as I had originally planned to do again this year, I found these and thought I would share them. I was pleased to know that I have read 9 of these books reviewed.

Nerdy Book Club

Earlier in the week, we asked for readers to contribute micro-reviews of their favorite banned books. This morning, we’re sharing what we got. It’s no surprise that some titles are listed more than once. Feel free to add your own micro-reviews in the comments!

 

Animal Farm by George Orwell

This book is as relevant today as the day it was written. A guide to recognizing the signs of totalitarianism and repression in any culture, context or country. A must read if we want to stop history from repaying itself.

Susan Hansen – Austin, TX – @SusanHa96214211

 

Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of Professor Poopypants by Dav Pilkey

Instant interest by kids who might want to combine fun and reading – imagine that! George and Harold battle their teacher and get reluctant readers to stretch vocabulary while they howl. I use the Silly Name Chart on pages 90/91…

View original post 1,430 more words

