Morgan Kane - Without Mercy

 

Morgan Kane: Without Mercy by Louis Masterson

I was contacted by Velocity Publishing House and asked if I would write a review, after they had seen my reviews on Goodreads. The book is apparently being reissued after over 30 years, as it is about to be turned into a movie. I checked out the book on Goodreads first as I had not heard of it before. It had been written by a Norwegian author named Kjell Hallbing, who went by the pseudonym Louis Masterson in the early 1960s to 1980s. He wrote a total of 85 books for the series, though Morgan Kane is also featured in a second series of books as well. I was lucky enough to get paperback copy of the book.

Normally I’m not a huge fan of westerns, but I figured why not? I really enjoyed the beginning and middle part of the story, but the ending was a bit anti-climatic and didn’t match the rest of the book, in my opinion. I get that they’re setting it up for an extended series, but it just ended so suddenly that it took me by surprise. I will say that since I’ve been watching the AMC show Hell on Wheels, I did kind of imagine the main character Cullen as the main character in this book – which made him a bit more likable as well. I think they were probably going more for Clint Eastwood though in the movie A Fistful of Dollars, as evidenced by the cover images and the fact that the main character does come off as a total badass.

Morgan Kane is a Texas Ranger. He makes a living tracking down criminals and getting rid of them. One day, he tracked down and killed a man, whose gang turns around and gets him back two-fold. First they fleeced him of all his money and then took him out, or so they thought. He ends up in a valley with a gun wound in his back and a hole through his gun hand. Everyone thinks he’s dead and he pretty much thinks he’s finished too. But he manages to survive and is coming after them. Will he be able to get his revenge? To find out read the first book of the Morgan Kane series. 3 1/2 stars.

Disclaimer: I received this book via the Publishing Company in exchange for my honest review.

