A Study in Silks (The Baskerville Affair, #1) by Emma Jane Holloway

A-Study-in-silks3

Ever since watching the BBC show Sherlock, I have been fascinated with Sherlock Holmes. So another spin-off book definitely got my attention. My only gripe about this book is the length. I do not mind reading long books but this is supposed to be the first book in a series and frankly, I thought the story went on for way too long (like 200+ pages too much), which made the story drag in the middle. This was the reason it too me so long to finish the book and I’m a fast reader. I will say though that despite my gripe, I really enjoyed the story and thought it was well-written and as others have said, it really puts you into the heart of this steampunk world in London. I love feisty heroines and I thought Evelina was a great character, though I know it must be difficult to be common born trying to fit in with all the rich nobs, and a female with not only a thirst for knowledge but with great mechanical ability as well.

 The story is set in an alternative Great Britain, one where steam barons run the show (and all the utilities) and magic is outlawed. The book focuses on Evelina Cooper, who is the niece of Sherlock Holmes. Her mother shamed the Holmes family after eloping with a captain whose low-born family was part of a circus. After her parents died, the circus was where Evelina ended up living, until she was rediscovered by Grandmama Holmes, who took her under her wing and gave her an education. Evalina is super smart and can animate clockwork creatures through magic, two things that are very dangerous for anyone, especially women. She is about to attend her first Season in London, when suddenly a brutal murder happens in the house she is staying in with her friend Imogen. She figures that she can solve it but she doesn’t know who to trust. Can she trust Imogen’s handsome scoundrel of a brother or her childhood love, Nick who like her can use magic? Recommended for ages 16+, 4 stars.

 Disclaimer: I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

