Crucible: Star Wars by Troy Denning

Crucible-starwars

I love Star Wars, especially the storytelling and mythology aspect of it (so much so I wrote a paper on it in high school). When they had the exhibit at the National Air & Space Museum back in 1997-1999 , I went to it so many times I pretty much memorized all the items in there. I have played a couple of the Star Wars games, for PC and online. Although I have watched all the movies multiple times, I have never read one of the many spin-off titles such as this one before. It made trying to visually picture some of the characters a bit tricky, but a good imagination helps.  I really enjoyed the book, and could imagine the ending as a good conclusion to Episodes 7-9, even though it got a little metaphysical. And yes, I liked that in this version the Jedi could marry – never liked that about the movie versions as it never made sense. My only complaint would be that it dragged a lot in the middle, which is part of the reason it took me so long to finish it.

The book is part of the “Expanded Universe” of Star Wars, set about 40 or so years after Episode 6, and focusing on Princess Leia, Han Solo, Luke Skywalker and Lando Calrissian. Han and Leia have been asked by Lando to help him with a piracy problem. Lando operates a mine in the Rift, an uncharted area of space away from Alliance space. Someone is trying to buy up stock from local mining companies in the Rift in a massive power grab, i.e. two Columni evil geniuses who really enjoy torturing people. They end up capturing Han Solo with the help of some Mandalorians (elite soldiers), a Sith female, Mirta Gev (Boba Fett’s granddaughter) and a traitor within Lando’s company. Leia and her brother Luke, both now Jedis, are fighting to rescue Han in time. Will they make it? What else will they discover at the Columni’s secret hideout? To find out, read this exciting novel. 3 1/2 stars.

*I received this book as an ARC from Netgalley. It did not affect how I reviewed the book.

