Towel

Today’s Google Doodle pays tribute to sci-fi author Doug Adams, and it would’ve been his 61st birthday if he was still alive. Nevertheless, we can still celebrate this brilliant man and his works. I was introduced to Doug Adams by a friend of mine from my study abroad trip to Italy, who insisted I must read the Hitchhiker seriesSo the summer that I came back from Scotland, while I was living with my parents in Alabama, I decided to give the five books (Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy; The Restaurant at the End of the Universe; Life, the Universe and Everything; So Long and Thanks for All the Fish; and Mostly Harmless ) a try. I absolutely loved them and thought the books were hilarious! Thankfully I had been brought up on British humor and could appreciate all that Mr. Adams was writing. To this day, they are among my favorite books ever. Another of my favorite British writers, Neil Gaiman, talks about Doug Adams in this blog post I found. Needless to say, I was pretty excited when they decided to come out with a movie about Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. I know it was a box office flop, but my hubby and I love it. I guess not enough people got the quirky British humor. I thought Martin Freeman was perfect as Arthur Dent, and Warwick Davis (the guy from Willow, Star Wars and a whole bunch of other awesome movies) as the body/costume of Marvin the Paranoid Android, with Alan Rickman doing the voice, was hilarious. I also really enjoyed Mos Def’s performance of Ford Prefect, Stephen Fry as the Narrator and Bill Nighy as Slartibartfast. I just learned that there is a “holiday” called Towel Day celebrated May 25, as a tribute to Doug Adams. For more info, check out this website.

The Babel Fish

I wish I had a babel fish.

Some of my favorite Douglas Adams quotes:

  • The last ever dolphin message was misinterpreted as a surprisingly sophisticated attempt to do a double-backwards-somersault through a hoop whilst whistling the “Star Spangled Banner”, but in fact the message was this: So long and thanks for all the fish.
  • “Curiously enough, the dolphins had long known of the impending destruction of the planet Earth and had made many attempts to alert mankind of the danger; but most of their communications were misinterpreted as amusing attempts to punch footballs or whistle for tidbits, so they eventually gave up and left the Earth by their own means shortly before the Vogons arrived.” – The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
  • “The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy also mentions alcohol. It says that the best drink in existence is the Pan Galactic Gargle Blaster. It says that the effect of a Pan Galactic Gargle Blaster is like having your brains smashed out by a slice of lemon wrapped round a large gold brick.”- The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
  • “I’ll handle this – I’m British; I know how to queue.” ~Arthur Den
  • “The Answer to the Great Question… Of Life, the Universe and Everything… Is… Forty-two,’ said Deep Thought, with infinite majesty and calm.” ― Douglas AdamsThe Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
