I was never into really into video games until I met my hubby. When we were first dating, he used to play the game Eve Onlinea MMORPG (Massively Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Game) set in space. He got me hooked on it, probably because I didn’t mind doing mundane tasks like mining, which is good because you’re always needing to mine to make stuff in that game. It was a way for us to connect, which might seem a little weird, but our relationship was not what most would call traditional (we met online) so it worked for us. I played casual computer games before Eve, like Bejeweled, Solitaire, and Mahjong.  After we got married, he got me into Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion and the first Fable, which was unlike anything I had ever played. It was a way for us to spend time together, and yes we didn’t necessarily have to talk during it but just gaming with another person was fun. Plus it gave us more to talk about later. He still gets mad at me as I have a tendency to steal his loot in-game. My favorite game that he introduced me to was Final Fantasy XII for the PS2, which I sadly can’t play on the PS3 for some idiotic reason, but I can play PS1 games like Final Fantasy IX (which I’ve never managed to get through). I loved the first Dragon Age: Origins  (the second one wasn’t as good though) and Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim has been fun, although I still haven’t managed to finish it either. Even if you have no idea what most of the others, I’m sure you’ve heard at least some mention of Skyrim and the phrase “I used to be a warrior, until I took an arrow to the knee.” I also loved Mass Effect 2 & 3though still haven’t finished the third one yet. I liked Diablo III, even if no one else in the gaming community seemed to. It was a bit rushed to get out, even though they had been promising it for 10 years.

I’ve played tons of free online role-playing games with and without the hubby like Flyff, LOTR online, Star Wars: The Old Republic (SWTOR), but the most fun we’ve had lately is from playing MinecraftI complained forever when he was playing it in the beginning (about a year ago), because it looked so basic and stupid (compared to the awesome graphics of a game like Mass Effect 3 or Uncharted 2). I mean how much fun can you get out of a game where you mine blocks, kill skeletons and zombies, and make houses? But that was kind of the point. I changed my mind about the game  after watching the documentary on the company that made the game, entitled Minecraft: The Story of Mojang. It’s crazy to think that the creator made the game in his free time and it went from an on-and-off thing to something where he could feel comfortable quitting his job and inviting others to join him to form the company (which was all done before the game had even been fully released to the public, by the way). All the big gaming magazines, shows and websites were raving about how awesome it was. The documentary even has the head of Lion’s Gate Entertainment, who created Fable, say that he thinks it is the best game he’s ever seen because of the creativity you can use in the game. And it really is endless. The Minecraft world is bigger than the Earth, so that’s infinite places to explore and create whatever you want. The crazy castles, monuments and yes even the Starship Enterprise can be built in the world. I thought it was fascinating that so many young kids are playing, and there’s even a teacher in New York that was using it to teach computer technology to elementary school kids (and most of the kids seem to really love it too). I started playing it by myself, after my hubby didn’t always want to play with me, but I wanted to explore on my own. The cool thing is that you can set the world to several different difficulty levels depending on your skill. So if I’m just building stuff,  I tend to go on peaceful setting, unless I have weapons because dying and losing all the stuff you spent hours creating or getting sucks. And yes, if you’re playing the non-peaceful difficulty settings, those Creepers really do creep up and scare the bejeebies out of you when you least expect it. You can get your stuff back if you die, but you have to find it. This isn’t easy, if you for example,  burned to death in the bottom of a cave system and spawned way far away from that. Anyways, I think it is a fun game and more people should play it.

