So apparently I am totally out of the loop. I had forgotten that this week was Teen Read Week, probably because I haven’t worked in a library and/or haven’t gone up to the teen section of my library in awhile. What caught my attention and reminded me of the fact was this article on teens reading to pay off library fines, which I thought was a clever way to encourage them to read.

For those who do not know about Teen Read Week, it is celebrated the third week in October, and is a literacy initiative to encourage teens to read.  This year’s theme is Read For the Fun of It. Here are some programming ideas for librarians, although youth groups could do some of them as well. YALSA (Young Adult Library Services Association) even has a Pinterest page. I will admit that I put some of their ideas on my own Library Programming Pinterest page as well. The 2012 Top Ten Books have been picked by teens, and are listed below. For more information on the books, check out this pdf.

1. Veronica Roth’s Divergent

2. John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars (excellent book which I highly recommend, though it is very sad)

3. Marie Lu’s Legend

4. Ransom Riggs’ Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (another I would recommend)

5. Sarah Dessen’s What Happened to Goodbye

6. Beth Revis’ Across the Universe

7. Marissa Meyer’s Cinder

8. Maggie Steifvater’s The Scorpio Races

9. Gail Forman’s Where She Went

10. Meg Cabot’s Abandon

