I apologize for not writing more. Last week was rather busy and stressful for me, as I had two interviews and no childcare. They were both for library assistant positions, with one having slightly more responsibilities and a higher starting salary. I must say that I would love to do either of them. They are both part time, which for the moment I am comfortable with as my son is still young and I would like to be with him as much as possible but still have a little independence. I should be hearing something between this Friday and next Thursday concerning both of the jobs. Honestly I can’t wait to go back to work again.

I’ve been thinking about posting for awhile now, but couldn’t come up with a decent subject. I’ve been thinking a lot about my son, as he has been growing so much. He’s now 15 months old, another inch taller (now 33 inches) and a pound heavier. He seems like such a big boy, but he’s still a baby in a lot of ways despite his height. I’ve just been so fascinated at how he is growing up. Even though my specialty is in youth services, I haven’t a whole lot of experience with his age group, birth – five, but rather 5-16. Plus he’s my first child so I’m figuring everything out as I go along, which is always a learning experience. He is getting more independent, though still needs me for diaper changes, giving him food, that sort of thing. I do miss the snuggly nap baby he used to be, but I’m so proud of him now too. He can grip things better so it is easier for him to feed himself and play with things, he’s gotten really good at opening doors and figuring out how to escape from behind the baby gate. He’s still a little wobbly with walking, but he’s getting better at it. He still needs work socializing with other children, so we’ve decided to put him in daycare for two half-days a week to help with that. It took us a while to find one that I really liked, but I think this place that we’ve chosen is a good fit. It is right next to a hospital (in fact affiliated with it), so they have a nurse on staff at the facility. They are accredited with the NAEYC (National Association for the Education of Young Children) so they will track his learning and developmental progress and give me updates on his activities, which I am happy about. They have a garden which the children help tend. The enrollment counselor’s child has been going there since 6 months and loves it. They help with potty training and teach the child about oral hygiene. All in all, it seems like a great place. He starts tomorrow and though part of me wishes I could be with him always, the other half is glad for a bit of a break.

