So I apologize for dropping off the face of the planet for awhile there, dear readers, but personal life has been rather stressful lately. Again with the money problems and still no job (didn’t get last library job I interviewed for). I am trying not to dwell on the negative but focus on good stuff. I finally found a job opening for youth services position, only the second I’ve ever found here in the Valley (of the Sun, as they call Phoenix) since I moved here, and the first full-time position. So fingers crossed on getting that job interview.

Despite being constantly rejected for even the most basic job in a library, it is still a place of refuge where I like to go when I’m stressed out and relax and pick out new books to read and movies to watch. My son loves to play in the children’s section. I love having a library card and it is always one of the first things I pick up when I move to a new area. I got one for Liam too, and even though he doesn’t appreciate it now, he will when he gets older. September is National Library Card Sign-Up Month, so go to your local public library and get a free library card. Usually you just need proof of address (a piece of mail with your name/address on it) and/or a driver’s license. Check out this list of 60 things you can do with a library card, which includes: checking out a pass to a city museum (such as the Phoenix Culture Pass), getting help with homework, downloading an e-book, and using free Wi-Fi.

I’m sure most people noticed the Google Doodle this weekend, celebrating 46 years of the first broadcast of Star Trek. While I very much enjoy Star Wars, I also love Star Trek. I never really got into the original show, a bit too over the top for me, I grew up watching Star Trek: Next Generation. I am currently re-watching the entire series of Star Trek: Deep Space Nine on Netflix. George Takei, who most people know as Sulu on the original Star Trek show, is someone I follow on Facebook . I think he is hilarious, and I love this quote he posted recently from Gene Roddenberry, the creator of Star Trek: “Star Trek was an attempt to say that humanity will reach maturity and wisdom on the day that it begins to not just tolerate, but also take a special delight in differences in ideas and differences in lifeforms.”

