I frankly have been MIA due to feeling rather crappy, distracted and uncreative. However, when I popped on Google a little while ago, I saw that their Doodle today was celebrating the birth of Faberge and I just had to comment. I love Faberge eggs and Nicholas II and his family! I first got introduced to Faberge when I was about 14 or 15 and my family and I were visiting some friends in Mississippi. They had an exhibit on the Romanov family and the highlight was several original Faberge-designed eggs. While I can’t remember all of them, I do remember seeing these two: 1898 Lilies of the Valley Egg and the 1901 Gatchina Palace Egg. I was also lucky enough to see a few more eggs that were on display at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts in Richmond, when I went to university there. I particularly like this one, the 1896 Egg with Revolving Miniatures, for the intricately detailed paintings inside, as well as the 1912 Tsarevich Egg covered in lapis lazuli and gold. I had forgotten that they did more than just the eggs, but re-browsing the Museum’s website has learned that he did photo frames, household objects as well as religious icons such as this one of St George Slaying the Dragon. For more information on Faberge, check out this website or this one. Seeing these eggs and the exhibit on Nicholas II and his family, sparked my intense curiosity on the Romanov royal family and their tragic fate. Later, after studying Bertie, who later became Edward VII (my favorite prince/monarch of England), I became interested in Tsar Nicholas II’s mother. Her Russian name was Maria Fyodorovna, but her original name was Princess Dagmar of Denmark and she was the sister of Alexandra, queen of England and wife to Edward VII. I have been unable to find any books so far on her, but I will try again.

