I apologize for not posting on Friday. I love doing the art posts, but this past Friday was just so hectic, I didn’t get a chance to do anything. I will do better this week. My hubby is gone to England to visit family and attend his sister’s wedding, so it’s just me, the baby and the pooch. I’ve been bored and lonely here at home, so I decided to experiment with some recipes this week. Usually my hubby is the cook and I look after the baby. Don’t get me wrong, I can cook, I just haven’t felt like it in ages. I’ve been wanting to bake for forever, as it is calming and therapeutic, but I’ve just not been motivated. Now I have 9 days to myself so I figured I would try some recipes. Just now I made a modified version of Mabo Dofu. It is a Chinese dish that they also make in Japan, and the Chinese call it Mapo Tofu. I used this recipe from the website http://www.justonecookbook.com. In my version, I doubled the garlic and ginger, and added another 3/4 pound of pork (trying to use the whole package that I bought). I took out the green onions entirely. The original recipe says to use 2 1/2 Tbsp Tobanjian with or without chili, but I didn’t know what it was so I decided to sub about 1 1/2 tablespoons of Chinese chili-garlic sauce instead. Turns out Tobanjan (this is the correct spelling) is bean sauce from China (more info on it here). The author of the original recipe does not specify what kind of miso to use, so I used what I had on hand, which was red with mixed grains. So I’m sure mine tastes far different than the original recipe, but it’s pretty tasty to me. I might add some more chili-garlic sauce to give it a bit more a kick. I think if I make it again, I’ll make some rice with it.

I also am planning on making some lemon-raspberry bars. I had originally wanted to make them for Mother’s Day for my mom, who was unable to leave her house due to a health issue, but I was so exhausted I decided to wait a day. The recipe is here, so feel free to make it on your own. I’m sure they’ll be yummy – how can they not with fresh raspberries in them? What kinds of interesting things have you cooked/baked recently?

