This year celebrates the 75th Anniversary of the Caldecott Medal, the highest award for a children’s picture book. Check out the ALA’s new medal designed by one of my favorite children’s author/illustrators, Brian Selznick. It’s so cool how he has worked in so many classic children’s books such as Madeline, The Invention of Hugo Cabret (Selznick’s own 2008 award winning book), Where the Wild Things Are, Make Way for Ducklings and other characters. Because of the anniversary, I figured I would start my Caldecott challenge. Every year since 2008 (basically since I started library school), I have tried to read as many Caldecott winning books as possible. At first, it was because I was taking a Children’s Literature class and we had to read a bunch. Later it was because I just enjoy reading picture books and I was curious why that year’s winners and honors got picked. I’ve read 63 of the Caldecotts, but that’s not that many considering there’s a total of 240 books. So I’ve got quite awhile to go. Here’s the list in case you are interested.

