I had forgotten that April was National Poetry Month, as there is so much else that is going on this month, so I am behind on sharing some great poetry. To discover more poetry websites, check out this article from @ Your Library. Because I haven’t been posting about poetry this month, I will remedy that by including two poems I enjoy. As in this previous post, you know that I am a huge Pablo Neruda fan, and he is in fact my favorite poet ever. The first is Pablo Neruda’s Sonnet XXVII from his 100 Love Sonnets.

Sonnet XXVII: Naked you are as simple as one of your hands by Pablo Neruda

Naked, you are simple as one of your hands,
Smooth, earthy, small, transparent, round:
You have moonlines, applepathways:
Naked, you are slender as a naked grain of wheat.

Naked, you are blue as the night in Cuba;
You have vines and stars in your hair;
Naked, you are spacious and yellow
As summer in a golden church.

Naked, you are tiny as one of your nails,
Curved, subtle, rosy, till the day is born
And you withdraw to the underground world,

as if down a long tunnel of clothing and of chores:
Your clear light dims, gets dressed, drops its leaves,
And becomes a naked hand again.

Since I’ve gone all romantic poetry on you, I figured I should go totally the opposite way and do something completely different. I’m going to switch to a classic poem by Robert Frost which I learned in high school, 10th grade I believe, which I still can remember from memory today. Do you have any favorite poems? If so, please share them in the comments section.

The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

 

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

 

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.
 
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
