I’m pretty sure most people have seen the Google Doodle today, which features British photographer Eadweard Muybridge. If not, here it is. As you can see from the Doodle, Muybridge was famous for his stop-action motion photography, which were like short films in the early days of silent movies. He was famous for the one on the Doodle because it showed that a horse, while galloping, does lift all four legs off the ground. I think it is interesting that he changed his name many times before settling on the final spelling, said to be from a coronation stone from King Edward (962-79).  An LA Times article featured here tells about the man and his very interesting life. He influenced filmmakers like Edison and the Lumiere Brothers. One of my favorite early films is the Serpentine Dance, seen here. Crazy to think that this film, like so many others of the time, was hand-colored. I remember getting the opportunity to go to the Library of Congress in high school to see a silent movie presentation which included Georges Melies’ A Trip to the Moon, which I just loved, especially because they had a piano accompaniment, so it was like seeing it as people did at the turn of the 20th century.  This, in addition to growing up watching 1940s and 50s movie musicals, gave me a love of classic movies which continues today. I may post on that some more later on.

