According to the American Library Services  for Children (ALSC) today is Randolph Caldecott’s birthday! Caldecott,  along with Kate Greenaway and Walter Crane, was a 19th century English author and illustrator of children’s books. For more information about the author and his works, see this website. I was lucky enough to visit the University of Southern Mississippi’s deGrummond Collection which features some of his original work. Anyways, the American Library Association (ALA) decided in 1937 to create the Caldecott Medal to honor the most distinguished book published during that year, and the first one to be awarded was for Animals of the Bible: A Picture Book in 1938. There are also up to five honors books awarded each year. Here is a list of all the Caldecott winners and honors from 1938 to the present. I believe that I have read 60 off the list myself, though I should’ve read a bunch more than that as my focus is youth services. Ah well, maybe that can be one of my goals this year, to read all the Caldecott winning and honor books.

