So normally my days are pretty boring, but today while I was going through my Goodreads mail (which I do about every month and a half), I found a lot of cool author blog posts and decided to share some of them. I found a really cool article that Philip Pullman (author of the His Dark Materials trilogy and other great books) had written about public libraries. Since I’m such a big fan of public libraries and use mine weekly, I wanted to share this.

Next is a blog post from an adult steampunk writer, Gail Carriger, whose Parasol Protectorate series include some of my favorite books. I highly recommend the series to any who have not read it.  Her new book Timeless has just recently been released and though it is the end to a wonderful series, I am so excited to read it!! Ms. Carriger does some really interesting posts and recently did this one on recreating a Victorian dinner and includes the recipes that she used and photos.

The third post is from Tony DiTerlizzi, a children and young adult writer who I have loved ever since I read/listened to The Spiderwick Chronicles. His most recent series, which starts with The Search for Wondla is a highly original and amazing book as well. The next book in the series A Hero for Wondla looks to be awesome (as far as story and illustration goes) as well and I am looking forward to reading it. The post is on his new guide for teachers and librarians for The Search for Wondla and Kenny & The Dragon, which includes discussion questions and activities they can use for teaching/programming.

The fourth thing I wanted to mention today is that it is World Poetry Day, which I just found out this morning. For more information, check out this UNESCO website. In honor of this, I would like to share my favorite poem of all time, Pablo Neruda’s One Hundred Love Sonnets: XVII, taken from this website and the book The Essential Neruda: Selected Poems. It also happens to be one of the most romantic and heartfelt poems ever, in my opinion.

Pablo Neruda’s One Hundred Love Sonnets: XVII

I don’t love you as if you were a rose of salt, topaz,
or arrow of carnations that propagate fire:
I love you as one loves certain obscure things,
secretly, between the shadow and the soul.
I love you as the plant that doesn’t bloom but carries
the light of those flowers, hidden, within itself,
and thanks to your love the tight aroma that arose
from the earth lives dimly in my body.
I love you without knowing how, or when, or from where,
I love you directly without problems or pride:
I love you like this because I don’t know any other way to love,
except in this form in which I am not nor are you,
so close that your hand upon my chest is mine,
so close that your eyes close with my dreams.
