We moved on Saturday and Sunday this past weekend to our new rental house. We worked for about 12 hours on each day to get as much as our stuff in as possible, clearing out our storage unit in one go, thanks to my friend Theresa and her husband. Needless to say we were totally exhausted by the end of Sunday.  I love it because it is on a safe quiet street where I can feel comfortable about living with our son.  We still have a lot of unpacking to do, plus we still need to go back to my parent’s house and get the rest of our things. I’m hoping we will be able to open it up to friends and family in a week or two. Getting used a much smaller space again has been challenging, but despite this, we actually have a bigger shower. We’ve figured out how to work with a kitchen with hardly any cabinet space, and I have been weeding through my book collection to see what I can get rid of. Being as I am a librarian and an art history major, it has been hard to get rid of books as they are my main collection. We had hired a couple of guys to help us move our stuff from the rental truck to the storage unit. We had thought they did a good job, however, when we were moving stuff out this past weekend , we found out that it wasn’t as good as we thought. We had to get rid of two bookcases, and though we gained two much smaller ones, it still leaves me with entirely too much stuff. So I’m sorting. Once I finish with the books, I will tackle the clothes, toys, etc.

On a entirely unrelated note, today is World Read Aloud Day! I love the little badge  with all the animals, it is so precious! World Read Aloud Dayis an event used to encourage the usage and power of words by sharing them with others. The website sponsoring this event, LitWorld, is a nonprofit organization “advocating for and working towards global literacy.” It is amazing to think that in this day and age there are still 793 million people around the world who are illiterate. I plan on celebrating by reading a book aloud to the baby, as well as spreading the word about it today on this blog. I would like to share some of the statistics off the LitWorld webpage, which was taken from UNESCO:

  • Out of the 793 million people across the world who are illiterate, “127 million youth aged 15-24.”
  • “On tests involving 4,500 to 10,000 students in 43 countries, half of the girls said they read for at least thirty minutes a day, compared with less than one-third of the boys.” – This statistic is why they have great initiatives like Guys Read by author Jon Sciezska.
  • A child born to a mother who can read is 50 percent more likely to survive past the age of 5 than a child born to an illiterate woman.”

